9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (2024)

9-1-1: Season 1 Reviews

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (1)

John Hanlon John Hanlon Reviews

Part of the fun is watching the writers create some unbelievable emergencies for the characters to face.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4 | Nov 19, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (2)

Sam Wollaston Guardian

To be honest, I'm not quite sure whether I am meant to be sitting on the edge of my seat, biting my nails, or rolling around on the floor, laughing. And, in the end, I'm not really doing any of it. Or caring an awful lot.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5 | Aug 17, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (3)

Suzi Feay Financial Times

It could yet turn out to be a classic of the lantern-jawed hero genre.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5 | Aug 10, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (4)

Mads Misasi Tell-Tale TV

All season long we have watched the wonderfully complex members of the LAPD, LAFD, and 9-1-1 dispatch grow and come together.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5 | Jun 19, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (6)

Eliza C. Thompson Cosmopolitan

It turns out she would, kind of. 9-1-1 is a procedural in the sense that each episode involves multiple rescues by the first responders, but it's just so off-the-wall that I refuse to believe this is what's happening on like, Chicago Fire.

Full Review | Mar 7, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (7)

Steve Greene indieWire

With the counterbalance of performances that are going for something much more honest, the show can have its cake, eat it too and send it crashing through three floors of a poorly constructed wedding venue.

Full Review | Feb 7, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (8)

Joshua Rivera GQ

The show is never not walking a tightrope between pulp absurdity and grave life-and-death drama, and to its credit, the pilot episode is really good at knowing when to pick a side.

Full Review | Jan 25, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (9)

Brian Grubb Uproxx

This show is wild as hell.

Full Review | Jan 22, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (10)

Melissa Camacho Common Sense Media

Harrowing rescue series has trauma and drama.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5 | Jan 16, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (11)

Emily St. James Vox

Tune in for a surprisingly top-flight cast (which also includes Angela Bassett!); stick around for what feel like entire episodes of television collapsed into individual scenes or sequences.

Full Review | Jan 8, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (12)

Ariana Romero Refinery29

So, men like Buck can keep all their GIF-able rescues, since the women of 9-1-1 are just fine checking the true heroics off their to-do list.

Full Review | Jan 5, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (13)

Stacy Glanzman TV Fanatic

It's honestly hard to tell if we're supposed to take 9-1-1 seriously, or if it was meant to be a parody. It felt like all of the Chicago shows wrapped up in one, but with even more unrealistic situations.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5 | Jan 4, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (14)

Maggie Fremont Entertainment Weekly

Overall, the show ends up more glossy than edgy. The acting is very, very good - with a cast led by Angela Bassett, Connie Britton, and Peter Krause, how could it not be?

Full Review | Original Score: B | Jan 4, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (15)

Ben Travers indieWire

The Fox procedural 911 is absolutely impossible to watch with a straight face, despite the earnest attempts of its A-list cast.

Full Review | Original Score: D | Jan 3, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (16)

Brian Lowry CNN.com

Stick with it, and 9-1-1 exceeds expectations, covering a whole lot of ground in terms of providing little insights into the characters' lives while conjuring unusual twists.

Full Review | Jan 3, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (17)

Brian Welk TheWrap

And the show has other stars: the emergencies themselves. Each of the three in the pilot episode is introduced like a graphic on the local evening news, with an audio wave and subtitles adorning each call to Britton's operator.

Full Review | Jan 3, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (18)

Matt Roush TV Insider

It's when we go off-duty with these heroes, played by one of TV's most ridiculously overqualified casts, that the show flatlines with maudlin subplots that might have been rejected by General Hospital.

Full Review | Jan 3, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (19)

Sonia Saraiya Variety

9-1-1, from showrunner Ryan Murphy and longtime collaborators Brad Falchuk and Tim Minear, has a characteristic streak of acerbic humor that comes out in unexpected moments.

Full Review | Jan 3, 2018

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (20)

Ken Tucker Yahoo! TV

The reason 9-1-1 seems even worse than it is, is that it has such good actors performing such awful material. How awful?: Somebody flushes a baby down a toilet!

Full Review | Jan 3, 2018

Load More

Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?

9-1-1: Season 1 - TV Reviews (2024)

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Carmelo Roob

Last Updated:

Views: 6323

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (45 voted)

Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Carmelo Roob

Birthday: 1995-01-09

Address: Apt. 915 481 Sipes Cliff, New Gonzalobury, CO 80176

Phone: +6773780339780

Job: Sales Executive

Hobby: Gaming, Jogging, Rugby, Video gaming, Handball, Ice skating, Web surfing

Introduction: My name is Carmelo Roob, I am a modern, handsome, delightful, comfortable, attractive, vast, good person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.